How do you cook artichoke?

Place artichokes on top of the steaming basket. Cover the pot. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmer. Cook for 25 to 35 minutes or longer, until the outer leaves can easily be pulled off. Dip in garlic butter, delicious.