How do you remove gum from a shirt?

There are a couple ways to remove gum. You can microwave a bowl of vinegar for 1 minute. Dip the fabric in the bowl and scrub of with an old toothbrush. Or you can lay ice cubes on the gum for 30 minutes, but the shirt on a flat surface and scrape off the frozen gum with a knife.