How many dry ounces is a cup?

Dry ounces is a measure of weight. A cup is a measure of volume. You cannot know how many dry ounces in a cup unless you know what you are measuring. For example, 1 cup of flour is 4.25 ounces, while 1 cup of rice is 6.53 ounces.