Do you need two coats of paint with primer?

Do you need two coats of paint with primer? On a new wall, you'll want to follow the rule and apply two coats of paint after primer. Follow the same standard for drywall. If you're repainting a wall, you'll only need one coat if you're using the same color and it's a quality paint.