What is a mole on the skin?

Skin moles with nevus or nevi in medical terms are growths on your skin that range in color from your natural skin tone to brown or black. Moles can appear anywhere on your skin or mucous membranes, alone or in groups. Most skin moles appear in early childhood and during the first 20 years of life.

---

A mole, or naevus, is a normal skin growth that develops when pigment-producing cells (melanocytes) grow in groups. They appear as small, dark marks, or sometimes flesh-coloured small bumps, on your skin. Moles can appear in a range of different colours, shapes and sizes.