Is there such thing as a brown widow?

Yes, brown widow spiders, Latrodectus geometricus, is not native to the United States, but first was an invasive species in Florida, and subsequently spread throughout the south, and north to South Carolina. The brown widow, is a tan spider with a series of white stripes.