What is get low versus new york?

Gitlow v. New York is a landmark Supreme Court case from the 1920s. One of the significant elements in the case is that it was the first to use, and have upheld, the use of the 14th Amendment to apply a federal government protection (in this case, Free Speech) to state governments.