What is a subtropical storm?

A subtropical storm typically has a large, cloud free center of circulation, with very heavy thunderstorm activity in a band removed at least 100 miles from the center. A subtropical storm does not have the potential to quickly grow into a hurricane whereas a tropical storm does.