What's a miracle berry?

Miracle berry is an evergreen shrub that is native to tropical West Africa. Outside of the tropics, it is a houseplant that is also known as sweet berry and miracle fruit. This interesting plant bears attractive and edible red fruit long with a seed surrounded by fleshy pulp.