What do spectral arrows do in minecraft?

A spectral arrow confers the Glowing status effect for 10 seconds. The Glowing effect creates an outline of the target, which is visible through blocks, and colored based on the target's team (white by default). Even if a bow is enchanted with Infinity, spectral arrows are still consumed.