What is the g. c. f. of thirty six and forty two?

The prime factorization of 36 is: 2 x 2 x 3 x 3 The prime factorization of 42 is: 2 x 3 x 7 The prime factors and multiplicities 36 and 42 have in common are: 2 x 3 2 x 3 is the gcf of 36 and 42 gcf(36,42) = 6