Who is edwin pettis?

As hard as it is to believe, there’s a bridge crossing the Alabama river in Selma, Alabama that honors Edmund Winston Pettus. He was a Brigadier General in the Confederate War, a senator, lawyer and head of the KKK in Alabama.