Is it bad to eat rust?

Yes, eating rust, aka iron oxide, can provide you with a lethal dosage of iron. If a small amount got on your tongue you should be fine but if you've ingested an amount larger than one eighth of a teaspoon you should watch for symptoms of iron poisoning.