What does p.s. mean at the end of a letter?

PS stands for postscript, which means an afterthought.

---

Postscript. A postscript (P.S.) is an afterthought, thought that's occurring after the letter has been written and signed. The term comes from the Latin post scriptum, an expression meaning "written after" (which may be interpreted in the sense of "that which comes after the writing").