What's the difference between a rutabaga and a turnip?

Turnips are generally white with a purple gradient toward the top, while rutabagas are yellow with a brown or purple-brown tinge toward the top. Flavor-wise, rutabagas are sweeter than turnips, which have a sharper flavor.