What's the difference between rummy and gin rummy?

The rules of Gin Rummy are similar to Rummy. The main difference is that the players do not lay down their sets, and runs until they are prepared to end the round. If the opposing player has valid runs or sets in his hand, they will not count as points. Rummy, 13 cards are dealt, Gin Rummy 7 cards.