Give me more definitions for sulfite?

ˈsəlfīt/ Learn to pronounce nounCHEMISTRY noun: sulphite; plural noun: sulphites; noun: sulfite; plural noun: sulfites a salt of sulfurous acid, containing the anion SO32−. Origin late 18th century: from French sulfite, alteration of sulfate (see sulfate).