What are gypsy peppers?

Gypsy peppers, botanically classified as Capsicum annuum, are a hybrid variety belonging to the Solanaceae or nightshade family. The peppers are also known as Cubanelle peppers, and are a hand-bred cross between a sweet pepper and a bell pepper.