Why can't i see ultraviolet?

The electromagnetic spectrum includes a wide range of electromagnetic frequencies and intensity, visible light is a very small slice of that spectrum. On 1 side of the spectrum, Infra red light waves are too long for humans to see and on the other side ultraviolet wavelengths are too short to see