What is a key blade?

Key blades are mysterious weapons that are heavily featured in the Kingdom Hearts series. Wielded by the main character, Sora and a number of others. The Keyblade is a main part of the battle between Darkness and Light. The blade specifically is an imperfect replica of the Ancient X-Blade.