Where did the term piping hot come from?

The term, piping hot, indicates that the object in question is excessively hot. The term may have originated from the sound of pipe organs in old European churches. Its first recorded use was by Chaucer in the Canterbury Tales. He wrote, Wafers piping hot out of the gleed.

---

It derived in late medieval times, referring to the steam that shot out of a spouted tea kettle