What's a bread and butter pickle?

Bread and butter pickles, also known as sweet and sour pickles, are on the sweeter end of the pickle spectrum, but not quite to the level of traditional sweet pickles. . Some pickle enthusiasts prefer their sweet, tart flavor over the sharp bite of dill pickles.