What year did josh groban win american idol?

Josh Groban did not compete in American Idol. His career was launched when he stood in for an ailing Andrea Bocelli at a rehearsal of a duet with Celine Dion, for the 1998 Grammy Awards. He welcomed the winner of the first season of "American Idol" on stage at one of his concerts to sing a duet.