Who composed a nygma variations?

The Enigma Variations, also known as Variations on an Original Theme, Opus 36, were composed by Edward Elgar between October 1898 and February 1899. The work is comprised of 14 variations on an original theme, with each being a musical sketch of 1 of his circle of close acquaintances.