What does cake sniffer mean?

In the Series of Unfortunate Events books, Cake Sniffer is an insult, generally applied by the character Carmelita Spats to other people. The meaning of the term is never explicitly stated in the books. Its meaning may be that the person cannot afford cake, so they must sniff it instead.