Why is a dog's nose dry?

A temporarily dry dog nose could be due to recently being asleep, warm air, dehydration, or allergies. A chronically dry dog nose could be due to plastic aversion, sunburn, disease, or old age. If you're concerned about a dog's dry nose, talk to a veterinarian.