What's in rum?

Rum is the distilled spirit of fermented sugar cane. Additional flavoring and coloration is a result of aging the rum in wooden casks or barrels. Some varieties may contain additional compounds to spice or otherwise alter the taste. When mixed with Coca-Cola, the cocktail is know as a Cuba Libre.