What is a stand storm?

A sand storm, also known as a dust storm, are common in arid and semi-arid regions. They are usually caused by strong winds associated with thunderstorms – or strong pressure gradients associated with cyclones – lifting large amounts of sand and dust from bare, dry soils into the atmosphere.