How do you measure the height of a horse?

Height is measured at the withers - a point near the top of the shoulder that is the highest point on his body which does not change when he raises or lowers his head - and is measured in hands. One hand is 4". So a horse who is 12 hands would be 12 x 4 or 48 inches tall.