Why is the american flag red white and blue?

It is believed the colors were drawn from the Flag of England. In 1777 there was no official meaning for the colors when the flag was adopted. There have been many interpretations as to why the Red White and Blue were chosen, but there is no official definition of why the colors were chosen.