What are tanks made out of?

The main component of a modern battle tank is thick steel plates bolted, welded, or formed into the shape required; on older tanks this could be up to 5 inches thick. For modern tanks, the plates are often sandwiched around composite materials for lighter weight and greater penetration resistance.