When did microwave ovens become popular?

After 20 years of selling commercial units, in 1967 Raytheon developed something close to the countertop model found in kitchens today. By 1986, roughly 25% of households in the U.S. owned a microwave oven, up from only about 1% in 1971. In 1997 it was in 90% of American homes.