Why is a cup of coffee called a cup of joe?

Three ideas: 1. Secretary of the Navy in 1913, Josephus "Joe" Daniels, prohibited alcohol at sea leading to more coffee consumption. 2. It’s a shortened version of two other slang terms for coffee: java and jamoke. 3. Coffee is considered “a common man” drink and Joe is “a common man” name.

---

It isn't known for sure, but a leading theory is it's a shortened version of two other slang terms for coffee: java and jamoke.