What is a stimulus check?

Stimulus checks are checks sent to taxpayers by the U.S. government. Stimulus checks are intended to stimulate the economy by providing consumers with spending money. When taxpayers spend this money, it boosts consumption and drive revenues at retailers and manufacturers and, thus, spur the economy.