What is the maximum liquid you can take on an airplane?

3-1-1 Liquid Rule In their carry-on bag, passengers can bring aerosols, liquids and gels, as long as two conditions are met. First, each container can't be larger than 3.4 ounces. Second, all the containers must fit into one quart-sized, clear plastic bag with a zip top.