How do i know when a watermelon is ready?

1. Green Stem. If the melon still has a bit of its stem attached at one end, make sure it is green and not dried out and brown. ... 2. Ground Spot. When a watermelon is ripe, you'll see a patch of white or yellow rind on its underside. ... 3. Smooth Skin. ... 4. Hollow Sound. ... 5. Nice and Heavy.