What's a protagonist in an antagonist?

The protagonist is your hero and the antagonist is whatever is keeping that hero from reaching their goal. Thus the antagonist does not have to be a person. It can be Nature making the hero freeze to death or an animal fighting the hero or even the hero's own thoughts and fears.