Where are the spice islands?

Called the Spice Islands by European explorers in the 1500s because of the nutmeg, mace, and cloves that were exclusively found there; the Moluccas are an archipelago in eastern Indonesia. Geographically they are located east of Sulawesi, west of New Guinea, and north and east of Timor.