When were helium balloons invented?

According to Arnold E. Grummer in his book, "The Great Balloon Game Book and More Balloon Activities," Helen Warny, founder of the Toy Balloon Company in New York, pioneered using helium in balloons in the 1920s as an alternative to explosive hydrogen-filled balloons.