What is helter skelter mean?

Helter Skelter is the True Story of The Manson Murders is a 1974 book by Vincent Bugliosi and Curt Gentry. Bugliosi had served as the prosecutor in the 1970 trial of Charles Manson. The dictionary says it means "in a haphazard manner" or "in undue haste, confusion, or disorder".