Who wrote old come all ye faithful?

The true authorship of this carol is difficult to pin down. It has been attributed to King John the Fourth of Portugal, John Francis Wade, Handel, among others. The common English version we know today was translated by Frederick Oakeley and William Thomas Brooke.