Is a mosquito a parasite?

A parasite is an organism that lives on or in a host and gets its food from or at the expense of its host. As mosquitoes neither live in or on the body of any organism they can not be classified as parasites. In addition, only female mosquitoes need blood for protein for production of their eggs.