Is there an earl of sandwich?

Yes there is an earl of Sandwich. It is a noble tile in the peerage of England. Lord Montagu created the position/ title in 1660.

---

The Earl of Sandwich is a noble title in the Peerage of England, held since its creation by the House of Montagu. It is nominally associated with Sandwich, Kent. It was created in 1660 for the prominent naval commander Admiral Sir Edward Montagu.