Does real maple syrup need to be refrigerated?

Maple syrup does not really need to be refrigerated. However, refrigerating maple syrup will retard the growth of mold. If a container of unrefrigerated maple syrup is not checked often, enough mold may grow in the syrup, to ruin the flavor of the syrup.