What is lighter shade?

The symbol for light shade is a sunshine partially obscured by darkness. This makes it easy to choose the proper plant for your garden location. Most plants can tolerate light a bit more extreme on one side or the other. This accounts for adaptation during seasonal change where lighting levels flux.