What is the difference between whole milk and skim milk?

Whole milk is cow's milk that hasn't had its fat content stripped. The milk retains its fat (about 3.5 percent) and is slightly thick. Reduced-fat milk retains 2 percent of fat. Skim milk, (also known as fat-free or non-fat milk) contains no fat at all.