Why are the french referred to as frogs?

Nobody knows for sure. Maybe because the French like eating frogs. Maybe because frogs used to be a symbol for French royalty. Maybe because the fleur-de-lys symbol looks a little like a frog. And maybe because Parisians used to call their country cousins frogs because country folk ate frogs.