What is a y. wing starfighter?

In the fan lore of Star Wars, where the stories continue from the original movies, Y-wing is a model of star fighters commissioned by the Galactic Republic during the Clone Wars, and go on to serve with the Alliance to Restore the Republic during the Galactic Civil War.