What is dickens?

Charles John Huffam Dickens better known as Dickens or Charles Dickens was an English nineteenth-century British author who wrote novels and short stories. Some of his most famous books are Oliver Twist, Great Expectations, A Tale of Two Cities, and A Christmas Carol.