What does the name bandy mean?

English: alternatively perhaps from an unrecorded Middle English bandy bendy 'curved stick' used for someone with bent or crooked legs. Czech and Slovak: from a derivative of banda '(gipsy) band' apparently a nickname for a bandsman. This surname is found among Gypsies.